FEMA Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program Grants

Reading Time: 3 minutes
FEMA Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program Grants

The Department of Homeland Security (FEMA) announces the availability of FMA funds to reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). There are three types of activities that qualify for funding: 1) advance assistance for flood mitigation design and development of community flood mitigation projects, 2) mitigation projects that address community flood risk for the purpose of reducing NFIP flood claim payments, and 3) FMA technical assistance, mitigation planning, and mitigation project that reduce risk of severe repetitive loss and repetitive loss properties. 

Eligible Applicants: Federally recognized Tribes, and State Governments (cities and towns must apply as sub-applicants under the State applicant)

Maximum Grant Request:
$200,000 for Mitigation Advance Assistance
$10 million for Community Mitigation Projects
$50,000 for Technical Assistance or State flood hazard mitigation planning
$25,000 for local flood hazard mitigation planning

Match: 25 percent

Deadline: January 31, 2020

Contact: Each State has a State Hazard Mitigation Officer who is the primary contact for that state. A list of those individuals can be located here.

For further information or assistance in applying for this or other funding opportunities, contact KLJ at 701-355-840.